Day 4: Drop In at WCV, May 28

Winnipeg Centre Vineyard Drop in – by Kaitlin Krell

My name is Kaite and I am studying event planning at a college in Calgary.

On May 28th, we had the opportunity to visit Winnipeg Centre Vineyard  (www.winnipegcentrevineyard.com) during their morning drop in. Drop in occurs every Tuesday and Thursday morning from 10:00 am – 11:30 am. It is a gathering for the Street Community. It is a time for friendship, food and coffee. During the time we were there, coffee, bagels, soup and sandwiches were served.

When I first heard this was happening in our schedule, I was instantly stressed out. This was WAY outside my comfort zone and definitely pushed the boundaries of my safe little world.

While there, I met a very kind man named Leonard who is an exceptional writer. He shared with me a poem. In meeting him, my own safe little world grew to include someone new. It amazes me how God will bring reassurance and courage when you need it.

Kaite, Leonard, Jon

Here is the poem he shared with me.

This New Talk

There was a place in time; they said that I should be

Something that I could not be.

There was a place in time, when they said that I would not

Amount to anything.

There was a place in time, when I was taught that

Love had a price.

This time I have learned a new talk, and this new talk

Tells me that I am just right.

This new talk tells me that I do not need to amount to

Anything, because I’m already somebody.

This new talk tells me that I am unique and lovable.

That I can love without restrictions.

This new talk tells me that when I seek the good

In others, I will surely find it.

For those of you who are full of sorrow and pain,

And for those of you who desire, that light

At the end of the tunnel.

My friend, I can suggest to you that you live a good life

And that you too, learn this new talk.

By Leonard. (Used with permission)

Leave a Reply

