Day 3: Monday May 27th, 2013

Intro to an AMAZING Day: Beth McLean Wiest

When I began traveling internationally on my own at 18, my mom was given a Scripture for me: Exodus 23:20 “See, I am sending an angel ahead of you to guard you along the way and bring you to the place I have prepared.”  Ever since then, that verse has come up at key points in my life- and generally through my mom.

In the early stages of planning this trip, one day she brought over her Bible to me and said, “Look what passage I opened to today when I was praying for you and this trip?” Sure enough… Exodus 23:20.

I have learned to anticipate that doors will open in incredible ways when I don’t lean on my own understanding but trust in God to direct my paths. Our Day 3 was a classic example of God arranging an incredible day for us. We were deeply humbled and so privileged to spend a day of learning with two inspiring men: a very wise aboriginal elder, Marcel Hardisty, and a brilliant Juno award winning musician, Steve Bell.

How on earth did this happen?

Great question. My only answer is Exodus 23:20. God paved the way and sent angels ahead of us.

One of those angels is Pat Nixon. Pat Nixon is the founder of The Mustard Seed Street Ministry in Calgary and the co-founder and Executive Director of The Streetlevel Network (www.streetlevel.ca). His accomplishments are mighty impressive: he’s received the Order of Canada, the Alberta Order of Excellence and recently the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal. Before ever hearing Harmony through Harmony sing, Pat was promoting us in his circles of influence because he resonated so deeply with what we are about. How cool is that? He has invited Harmony through Harmony to join Streetlevel in sharing its messages in churches and communities across Canada. We consider this to be an immense privilege.

Pat is good friends with Steve Bell.

Steve is also an angel in our story. Steve Bell is a singer, songwriter and storyteller.  (www.stevebell.com) He’s released 17 CDS. He’s the winner of two Juno Awards for Best Gospel Album, and multiple Western Canadian Music Awards, Gospel Music Association of Canada Covenant Awards, Shai/Vibe awards, and Prairie Music Awards. He is also a recipient of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal!

Remarkably, Steve offered to help connect Harmony through Harmony to people in his circles of influence in Winnipeg. Like Pat, Steve had also never heard HtH perform nor met our group before endorsing us. His kindness resulted in two connections we could only have dreamt of without his help: a day with Marcel Hardisty from Hollow Waters reserve and Ovide Mercredi former National Chief to the Assembly of First Nations. He then joined us in learning from these two inspiring individuals sharing his insights and further stimulating our community on our learning journey.

Over the next couple of days I will attempt to share my understanding of what Marcel taught us. Before then, I encourage you to read Steve’s Blog “Glory in the Skies! WJ Flight 318 Seat 3D – An Anishinaabeg Tale and a Hebrew Psalm”  (blog.stevebell.com)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

